Diggin’ Out (Our Winter Wonderland)

My little town of Honesdale, PA, is responsible for several contributions to American culture – one of the best-known being the song “Winter Wonderland,” which songwriter Richard Smith penned after a snow-covered visit to Honesdale’s  Central Park.

So, a few winters back I was shoveling away & humming the tune to myself, and by the time I was done, the following lyrics had written themselves in my head. So I’m pleased to share them with you…

There’s a big storm a-comin’
Sales of shovels are hummin’
They say nine to ten
Oh no not again
We’ll be diggin’ out our winter wonderland

Gone for now are the snowbirds
Ten to twelve, that’s what I heard
The snowblower putts
As we’re freezin’ our butts
Diggin’ out our winter wonderland

(bridge)
In the morning I’ll dig out my driveway
Maybe I can get to work by ten
I’ll be happy when I’ve done my driveway
Until the snowplow fills it up again

Later on when we’re achin’
And the Advil we’re takin’
I’ll need a back rub
A soak in the hot tub
After diggin’ out our winter wonderland

(repeat bridge)

Later on when we’re achin’
We will plan our vacation
My town I won’t leave
But I could use a reprieve
From diggin’ out our winter wonderland

Leave a Reply

