Flee This Country (Refugee Song)

gotta flee, flee this country, yeah
pull up stakes & run away
go hiding in the darkness
till there comes a brighter day
there comes a brighter day

gotta flee, flee this country, yeah
’cause it ain’t safe no more
and I can hear the far-off rumbling
of a fast approaching war
a fast approaching war

(refrain)
and the storm has gotta pass
and the fires gotta burn
and the die’s already cast
and the lessons must be learned
I know I gotta leave
I might return someday
but it’ll never be the same again
after what I saw today

gotta flee, flee this country, yeah
say goodbye to all my friends
in their eyes I see the madness
and a pain that never ends
pain that never ends

gotta flee, flee this country, yeah
leave my parents’ graves behind
with just th’belongings on my back
and the troubles in my mind
troubles in my mind

(refrain)
and the storm has gotta pass
and the fires gotta burn
and the die’s already cast
the lessons must be learned
I know I gotta leave
I might return someday
but it’ll never be the same again
after what they did today

gotta flee, flee this country, yeah
’cause this country’s going mad
and my heart it feels so empty
and my mind just feels so sad
mind just feels so sad

gotta flee, flee this country, yeah
and there’s one thing I know
I should have seen this coming
a long long time ago
long long time ago

(coda)
every now and then the fire
look out here it comes again
we’ll come out a little higher
till it comes around again
everytime a little higher
look out here it comes again
like that phoenix in the fire
spirit risin’ up again
(2x, then 1st line of song, to fade)

Leave a Reply

