Sixteen Years (The Student Debt Song)

Tune: “Sixteen Tons”
(hat tip to Art Goldberg for collaboration & encouragement)

Some people say you have to go to school for a job
If you don’t go to college, you’ll end up a slob
You do sixteen years, then maybe some more
Get your Ph.D. and you’re sweepin’ the floor

(chorus)
You do sixteen years, and what do you get
A little piece of paper and a whole lot of debt
St. Peter don’t you call me ’cause I can’t stay
I owe my soul to Miss Sallie Mae

I woke up one mornin’ when the weather was cool
Packed up my books and I headed to school
I did sixteen years, got my diploma
Still got no job and I’m livin’ at home-Ah

Did sixteen years, what did I get
A little piece of paper and a whole lot of debt
St. Peter don’t you call me ’cause I can’t stay
I owe my soul to Miss Sallie Mae

Well an education is important to have
So when you do your taxes you can do the math
I could say a few things about cats that are fat
But now all I can say is, “You want fries with that?”

(chorus)

If you see me comin’ won’t you spare some change
If this keeps up I just might get deranged
Gotta work all day, try to pay my bill
If the stress don’t get me the interest will

(chorus)

Leave a Reply

