If You’d Been Thinkin What I’ve Been Thinkin (Then You’d Be Drinkin Too)

If You’d Been Thinkin What I’ve Been Thinkin
(Then You’d Be Drinkin Too)
(a country song by “Blind Peanut” Nicholson)

(spoken)
Well, I saw this guy at the end of the bar
One glance would tell ya he’d gone too far
You could tell he’d been dumped
By the way he was slumped
I knew he couldn’t drive a car

So I asked his name, and what twist of fate
Had led him down into this sorry state
He said “Don’t judge me too tough
I’m just goin thru stuff”
I asked him to elucidate – and he said:

(chorus)
“If you’d been a-thinkin
What I’ve been a-thinkin
Then you’d be drinkin too
If you had contemplated
What I have contemplated
Then you’d get intoxicated
It’d be the only thing to do
‘Cause if you were a-losin
The kind of love I’m losin
Friend, you would take to boozin
Of that I am quite sure
‘Cause if you’d been thinkin
What I’ve been a-thinkin –”
And that’s when he hit the floor

(instrumental break)

(spoken)
So we cleaned him up, sent him on his way
And I’d think about that guy from day to day
But now I’ve found out
Just what he was talking about
That’s why I’m in this bar today
Time comes when your brain can’t help you no more
And your soul is tired and your heart is sore
So set me up for one round more
‘Cause there’s only one thing to say…

(chorus)
If you’d been a-thinkin
What I’ve been a-thinkin
Then you’d be drinkin too
If you had contemplated
What I have contemplated
Then you’d get intoxicated
It’d be the only thing to do
Cause ‘if you were a-losin
The kind of love I’m losin
Friend, you would take to boozin
Of that am I am quite sure
And if you’d been thinkin
What I’ve been a-thinkin —
You wouldn’t wanna be sober no more

(repeat chorus ad lib to fade)

One response to “If You’d Been Thinkin What I’ve Been Thinkin (Then You’d Be Drinkin Too)

  1. Pingback: THE SONGS OF BLIND PEANUT NICHOLSON | Skip's Testing Range

Leave a Reply

