a prayer for the rich

Dear Lord, for your assistance I must now humbly ask
For You have set before me a small yet daunting task
For if I am to demonstrate Your love, as is Your wish
Somehow I am supposed to write a prayer for the rich

It’s no big deal to come up with a prayer for the poor
We only have to ask that they might have a little more
But the wealthy, well, they’re something else, a very different breed
A different type of spirit, yes, with very different needs..

But first I have to ask that You look deep within my heart
And take away the feelings that might complicate my part
Let me not speak vindictively, no, let me show no spite
No envy and no hatred in these words that I might write

Help me, Lord, to understand the great burdens that they bear
The pressured expectations that make it hard to care
Help me to remember that they’re mortal just like me
Though they have more within their grasp than I could ever hope to see

Let them not be blinded, Lord, by the glitter of their wealth;
Let them have clear vision, let them see beyond themselves
Open up their hands, their hearts, yes, open up their minds
Help them be good stewards for the sake of all mankind

Protect them from corruption, Lord, from power’s evil lure,
Help them maintain perspective, help them keep their motives pure;
Help them keep peace within their hearts, and not rely on war.
Let them understand integrity. Keep them mindful of the poor.

Lead them through the needle’s eye, and help them to let go
Knowing all things have to pass, and that everything must flow
Teach them responsibility, and help them make the switch:
And then I’ll know You’ve answered my prayer for the rich.

Leave a Reply

