That’s the Way She Shows Me She Loves Me

THAT’S THE WAY SHE SHOWS ME SHE LOVES ME
A “Blind Peanut Nicholson” song

It’s a quarter past two in the morning
I have managed to find my way home
But the living room light
Lets me know it’s all right
She is waiting for me all alone

So I open the door oh so quiet
She is sitting asleep in her chair
A rolling pin on her lap
Hope she’s enjoying her nap
And she won’t hear me creep up the stairs

“Just where do you think you’re goin’?”
Comes that voice that I so love to hear
“Throw those clothes in the wash
And go sleep on the couch
‘Cause you reek of tobacco and beer.”

That’s the way she shows me she loves me
She’s concerned for my welfare, you see
And when she berates me
I know she don’t hate me
I’m a right lucky guy you’ll agree

The buffet smells so inviting
I believe I might get a fresh plate
But she gives me that stare
That knocks me back in my chair
“You’re supposed to be watchin’ your weight.”

That’s the way she shows me she loves me
My well-being is her prime concern
‘Cause if she didn’t care
She’d get out of my hair
And let me slide into hell and just burn

She tells me I should be more active
To allay her heart attack fears
Though the best exercise
Would be between her thighs
And we haven’t had a workout in years

That’s the way she shows me she loves me
And she’ll love me until my last breath
If she keeps bein’ so kind
I might go out of my mind
That woman will love me to death

That’s the way she shows me she loves me
She’s concerned for my welfare, you see
And when she berates me
I know she don’t hate me
I’m a right lucky guy you’ll agree

One response to “That’s the Way She Shows Me She Loves Me

  1. Pingback: THE SONGS OF BLIND PEANUT NICHOLSON | Skip's Testing Range

Leave a Reply

