THIS MIGHT BE A BIG HIT COUNTRY SONG

THIS MIGHT BE A BIG HIT COUNTRY SONG
by Blind Peanut Nicholson

One night I was driftin off to sleep
I’d asked the Lord my soul to keep
A couple of lines drifted through my head
Made me jump straight out of bed

Stumbled to my desk and scribbled em down
Next thing I knew I was just goin to town
Thought to myself, “I could be wrong
But this might be a big hit country song”

So I brought it to the band, said “Check out this verse”
They looked it over, said “Well, we’ve seen worse”
But when they came to the break they were playing strong
Sure sounded like a big hit country song

[instrumental break]

We decided to try it before a live crowd
They were getting kind of rowdy, they were getting kind of loud
But when we got to the chorus they were singing along
Looks like we got ourselves a big hit country song

Well, the record company thought it was great
It debuted on the charts at Number Eight
It got heavy rotation, right where it belonged
This simple little big hit country song

Now it’s gone past its prime, it’s aged quite a bit
It’s on Volume One of our Greatest Hits
Download it if you want to, its life you’ll prolong
Our simple little big hit country song

Leave a Reply

