DON’T HAVE ANY DIAMONDS

(a song by Blind Peanut Nicholson)

Well I don’t have any diamonds
And I don’t have much cash
What I have instead is a headache
And a persistent rash

And I know I don’t have much hair left
And I know I don’t have much time
But I still have my sense of humor
And some facility with a rhyme

(chorus)
As the world falls apart
Gotta hold on to your heart
As we head on down the hole
Try to hold on to your soul

And I know I had some potential
That I knew I could never fulfill
And I know that I’ve done some damage
But at least I never have killed

And maybe I could have done better
And maybe you could as well
But the Lord understands everything we’ve been through
And that oughta keep us from hell

(chorus)
As the world falls apart
Gotta hold on to your heart
As we head on down the hole
Just hold on to your soul

Leave a Reply

