Once I had a castle

Once I had a castle
But it fell down stone by stone
It’s alright, it was just a hassle
For I lived in there alone

Once I had a golden chain
I wore it cross my chest
Then I lost it in the driving rain
But it was really for the best

And once I had a silver ring
That my love gave to me
At least she didn’t take it back
When she’d had enough of me

One response to “Once I had a castle

  1. Nice! It could be a song. It almost has a nursery rhyme feeling. The rhyme scheme is interesting.

Leave a Reply

